Reflect and Be Damned

We cannotImage: Christmas card from Sarah Boyd

We are nothing if not rhythmic creatures. As the year draws to an end, a flurry of reflection, intention and future-focussed writing, articles, conversations come into being.
It would be easy to get cynical.
To roll eyes and point at the commonality and predictability of such things – “yes, yes, year end, Reflection, Next Year, Blah….”

Except, for me, this stuff is precious and important. Taking time to look at what has been, or what is; then to bring what has worked well into plans for going forward. How can this not be good work?

Sure, there will be a fair share of braying, self-selling, shiny-storied, perfection-dusted narratives. There may also be reflections from those who feel genuinely, authentically, deeply grateful, blessed or challenged, who are sharing because they want to – (rather than to Prove How Ace My Life Is)… these reflections are, to be honest, much more my kind of reading and conversation… and I appreciate the latter more for the presence of the former… (Yes, I’m more likely to feel an urge to gently Bang my head off the table in the Face of “its all Ace”, but I sort of enjoy the chutzpah of it)

I guess I’m saying that it is good to take a moment, if and when we can, to kind of look around and take stock. There are the lessons hard-won, and the lessons yet-to-learn. Achievements under belts and potential yet to be tapped.

I don’t give a monkies if reflection happens on a random date when the Gregorian Calendar deems another random date starts, or on a Solstice that in the Northern Hemisphere heralds the move toward summer and the Southern toward Mid winter. It could be April before you Get Your Reflection on or it might be your permanent state….

The point is take time and make time to look around you- what is behind, in front, under your feet and above your head. Even more so if it feels edgy to do.

Because it is here, in the moments of reflecting, in the pause before the movement, before the jump to action, before the list of Stuff I Will Do, that possibilities and new pathways can be found.

This bit feels jagged… But I blogged last year that I don’t make resolutions….
Nevertheless, I’ve spent time reflecting of late and stuff is emerging, of course. I intend to continue working on how I show up in life and work, in my family and with friends and connections….and continue writing, as it gives me deep joy.
I intend to be the best coach, facilitator, thinker and learner I can be and to work to bring these things into my client interactions.
And part of enabling this is happen is to reflect on myself, my practice, my contribution – without disappearing up my own backside in the process.

To any and all who have read, shared, commented on and supported the fuchsia blue blog in 2014, I thank you and wish you joy, love, determination and happiness in the coming year.

6 thoughts on “Reflect and Be Damned

  1. Lovely post Julie. Funnily enough I’ve been bothered in the last week that Christmas busy-ness is preventing proper reflecting for me. Then it occurred to me – who says I have to do it now! An arbitrary reflection-date will be chosen later for me….

  2. As a reflective sort of person with a need for proper reflection and no real time at this busy time each year to do so, I go for a safe-bet resolution each year to “carry on doing what I do and adapt accordingly!”

  3. Surprisingly this is my first time reading your blog, how it passed by under my nose (I’m sure of it) all these years I have no idea. Wanted to say great post and I’m a huge fan of regular reflection. In fact my most recent post (http://www.technkl.com/learning-from-others/) is partially about regular reflection (through #LrnToday) and partially about learning about things otherwise not known about.

    Reflection to me is a daily activity, not something I do only yearly (although I do reflect on the entire year at the end). I love the attitude that reflection isn’t for an arbitrary day. To be helpful it needs to be a part of the normal day, not a separate activity.

Leave a Reply

