Change Starts In The Heart

So it looks like I’m going to start Blogging.  Interesting turn of events.

Late last year I was in conversation with an experienced blogger explaining plainly how this on-line virtual world malarkey wasn’t for the likes of me. “I can’t think of a single thing to say that people would actually want to take the time to read. What on earth do you SAY that is clever and engaging and… well, worthwhile?”

Cautioned by the over-sharing nature of some of what I’d seen on Facebook; baffled by Twitter (but WHO READS IT??? What is the POINT?) I was, frankly, disheartened.

Sam was, as ever, encouraging and practical. Look at Blogging as the start of a conversation – a means to discuss or share information. It’s not about being clever. Though engaging is a good idea…..

On 16th December 2011 on a slate grey, freezing Edinburgh afternoon, I walked through St Andrews Square. In the midst of the Christmas chaos and bitter winds, I saw this hand painted banner in the Occupy Edinburgh camp.  I was so struck by the words – they resonated with me so strongly – that I pulled off my gloves & took a snap with my iphone:

Change Starts In The Heart.

And I’m thinking “Yes. It just might. I think that to really shift or change anything – your hearts needs to be in it.  I feel that and I think that. “

I sent the photo to a friend and the response came back almost instantly: There’s a blogger in you somewhere.

And that stopped me in my tracks. I suddenly felt the very opposite of disheartened – I felt engaged and enlivened…..Because I found I really wanted to say more about the image – about what it said to me. I wanted to share my views… so maybe there was a Blogger in me somewhere.?

It’s taken me months to build up the courage to Blog.  To be bold and share my thoughts, experiences and words out into the virtual world. I’ve played about on Twitter (@fuchsia_blue) and I’ve started a new Facebook page where I try to post stuff which has genuinely moved me, or made me laugh, or given me pause. I’m trying to find my virtual voice – one which is authentically mine and reflects me. Through finding my virtual voice, I find I strengthen my actual voice…. I find finally I have something to say and, even if it isn’t clever, that the words are mine and I can share them gladly and openly – as the start of a discussion.

And people have responded back – comments and re-tweets and coffee & a Facebook chat about  physical memories and journaling with all 5 senses.

And I find I only really want to post things that have touched my heart – that mean enough to me to show my passions and my concerns; or the things that lift my heart and make me smile ( or fall about laughing, of course)

So… it looks like I’m going to start blogging.

Change Starts In The Heart indeed.

7 thoughts on “Change Starts In The Heart

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging. I dipped my toe in for a while last year and then took a step back due to other commitments that I had but I’m back again now because I missed it so much. It’s about sharing information, views on the world, experiences and getting to hear another perspective. I love reading blogs and I love to see what drives people to sit and write something. Well done on taking that first step, soon there will be no stopping you.

    By the way, great first post. I can’t wait to read some more.

    • Thank you. It felt like it was a BIG first step and already people have been kind & supportive…. So a good experience. Very encouraging. I used to love to write & then…. Sort of lost it. It does my heart good to write, I realise… It’s just new to share. I’ll check your blog, too. Thanks again. J

    • Me too re: facebook chat. I’m starting with my virtual voice… Visual voice will come in time, I hope…. It’s a term which has stuck in my head since. Started a pin interest account after that chat, inspired by you … Haven’t QUITE worked out what to do with it.. Just sort of appreciating the images for now…I

  2. Pingback: The Poetry of Propaganda – (AKA when the “soft stuff” gets hard core) | fuchsia blue

Leave a Reply

